Posted in Fashion Design, Fashion Designer, Pearl Academy, Pearl Academy Students, Pearl Events

Street style meets couture

 

ON THE RAMP

The global streets have always inspired haute couture. And in her debut collection, Kaveri Sharma explores the fun and vibrant lanes of Rajasthan. From pop art inspired prints of  the mooch to intricately embroidered motifs of camel, there’s a joie de vivre that captures the mood of this magical place. “Fashion today is inspired by street styles.  India itself for that matter, having such a diverse cultural background has various street styles that offers a perfect blend of modern and traditional fashion,” says Kaveri, a student at the Pearl Academy of Fashion.

A visit to Rajasthan sparked off the inspiration for her collection, Nomadic Nirvana. “The journey began when I documented crafts practised in villages around Bikaner. The use of colourful embroidery and leather trims along with unique tie–dye techniques, on playful silhouettes is what defines my casual wear collection. I went back to the heart of my inspiration, the city of Bikaner to get my fabrics developed by the craftsmen. Each piece is signed by them to honour craftsmen, in recognition of their work. The places I visited and the people I met had a huge impact on me and changed my outlook towards life,” she explains.

However, the creative journey had its share of challenges. Kaveri concurs. “It was challenging to work with the craftsmen, where other factors need to be considered. A lot of my fabrics faded as the craftsmen did not have much shelter to work under and were embroidering under the blazing sun. They also had never worked with fabrics such as knits and georgette before. So it took them a while to get used to the fabric,” explains this fashionista from Bengaluru, who won the award for the best collection at the graduation show choreographed by Ajit Menon.

A self-confessed drama queen, Kaveri also has a popular fashion blog. “People have always made fun of the fact that I am really skinny and a bit dramatic (which is inevitable if you are a Katherine Heigl fan). So I decided to use it to my advantage and start my own blog — www.skinnydramaqueen.blogspot.in, where I post my adventures in the fashion industry,” smiles this young lady, who has her future mapped out. “This July, I am going to Milan on a merit scholarship to pursue luxury brand management and then, I head to London to attend two other short courses in fashion forecasting and media styling from The University of Arts, London,” signs off a confident Kaveri

Source:  Deccan Chronicle | Tuba Raqshan | 12th Jun 2013

 

Author:

Librarian Pearl Academy

3 thoughts on “Street style meets couture

  1. Greetings! Very useful advice within this post! It’s the little changes which will make the most important changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

Leave a Reply

